Connecticut practice tests
The Connecticut DMV knowledge test has 25 questions based on the Connecticut Driver's Manual, and you need at least 20 correct to pass. DMV offices give it in person by appointment, after a vision test. You can get a learner's permit from age 16, and since January 1, 2026 you must first complete the free online Connecticut Work Zone Safety Course. Our free Connecticut practice sets follow the real format, 25 questions with 20 correct to pass, and every answer comes from the Connecticut Driver's Manual, so you can check what you know before the real test.
- 25 questions
- 20 to pass
The test in Connecticut
Every figure links to the page it was read from, with the date it was checked. Formats change; the source wins over this table.
| What | Figure | Source · checked |
|---|---|---|
| Questions | 25The manual says the knowledge test consists of 25 questions and is based on the information in the manual. You must pass it before you receive a learner's permit. | Connecticut Driver's Manual (revised March 2023), PDFchecked 2026-11-01 |
| To pass | At least 20 of 25 correctThat is 80 percent. Our practice sets use the same rule: 25 questions, 20 correct to pass. | Connecticut Driver's Manual (revised March 2023), PDFchecked 2026-11-01 |
| Road sign questions | No separate signs part or sign minimum statedThe Driver's Manual does not describe a separately scored signs section or a minimum score on sign questions; its Traffic Signs section is simply part of what you study. Our practice sets include several sign questions with pictures, scored with the rest of the test. | Connecticut Driver's Manual (revised March 2023), PDFchecked 2026-11-01 |
| Time limit | Not statedThe Driver's Manual does not state a time limit. Our sets have no time limit. | Connecticut Driver's Manual (revised March 2023), PDFchecked 2026-11-01 |
| Tests for a permit | A vision test and the 25-question knowledge test, in person by appointmentTo get a learner's permit you must pass both. The DMV says all testing is in person, by appointment only at select DMV offices, with the vision test first in the same appointment; if you fail the vision test you cannot go on to the knowledge test. You book and pay online. | Connecticut DMV: Take the knowledge and vision testschecked 2026-11-01 |
| Work Zone Safety Course | Required for every learner's permit applicant from January 1, 2026The DMV says the free online Connecticut Work Zone Safety Course takes less than an hour. You create an account in your legal name, print the completion certificate and hand it to the DMV with your other documents before you take the knowledge test. The course is also listed as a requirement for the road test. The March 2023 manual predates this rule, so we follow the DMV page. | Connecticut DMV: Take the knowledge and vision testschecked 2026-11-01 |
| Languages | 11 languages on the standard test, 24 more on paperThe DMV lists Albanian, Arabic, Mandarin Chinese, English, French, Italian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish and Vietnamese. You may also ask for a hard copy written test in Amharic, Armenian, Bosnian, Simplified Chinese, Croatian, Dari, German, Greek, Haitian Creole, Hindi, Japanese, Khmer, Korean, Nepali, Pashto, Persian Farsi, Brazilian Portuguese, Punjabi, Romanian, Somali, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian and Urdu. The driver's manual is published in English and Spanish. | Connecticut DMV: Take the knowledge and vision testschecked 2026-11-01 |
| Test fee | $40, covering the vision, knowledge and road testsThe DMV fee pages list a $40 license exam fee, paid online when you book. The teen license page says it includes the vision, knowledge and road test. | Connecticut DMV: Teen driver's license informationchecked 2026-11-01 |
| Permit fee | $19 for a Class D learner's permitPaid online when you book, along with the $40 testing fee. A duplicate permit is also $19. | Connecticut DMV: DMV feeschecked 2026-11-01 |
| Retakes | Knowledge test: wait seven days and pay $40 againThe DMV says that if you fail the vision test you can reschedule straight away, but if you fail the knowledge test you wait seven days and pay $40 to rebook. If you fail the road test you wait at least 14 days and pay the $40 testing fee again. | Connecticut DMV: Take the knowledge and vision testschecked 2026-11-01 |
| What to bring | Original ID documents, Form R-229, the $40 exam fee and the work zone certificateThe DMV lists acceptable identification from its document checklist (photocopies and faxes are not accepted), a completed and signed Form R-229 application (printable after you book), the $40 license exam fee, any Connecticut non-driver ID card (surrendered when the permit is issued), glasses or contacts if you need them, and the Work Zone Safety Course certificate. A teen whose parent or legal guardian is not present at the knowledge test brings a Certificate of Parental Consent (Form 2-D). | Connecticut DMV: Take the knowledge and vision testschecked 2026-11-01 |
| Vision standard | 20/40 or better, with or without corrective lensesThe manual says that a person blind in one eye needs at least 20/40 in the other eye and a visual field of 100 degrees or more. | Connecticut Driver's Manual (revised March 2023), PDFchecked 2026-11-01 |
| Minimum age | 16You must be at least 16 to get a learner's permit. The permit is valid until you get a license or for two years from the date it is issued, whichever comes first. From 18 you apply for an adult learner's permit, which the DMV says is valid for two years. | Connecticut Driver's Manual (revised March 2023), PDFchecked 2026-11-01 |
| Learner's permit rules (16 and 17) | Qualified trainer aged 20+ with a license held 4 years; no cell phone use at allThe only passengers allowed are a licensed driving instructor giving instruction (and others riding with that instructor), or one qualified trainer, who may be accompanied by parents or a legal guardian. A qualified trainer is 20 or older and has held a license for at least four consecutive years with no suspension in that time, and sits in the front passenger seat. Permit holders may not use a cell phone, even hands-free, may not carry more passengers than seat belts, and may not drive a vehicle that needs a public passenger transportation permit or a vanpool vehicle. | Connecticut Driver's Manual (revised March 2023), PDFchecked 2026-11-01 |
| Training and time held (16 and 17) | 40 hours behind the wheel; permit held 120 or 180 daysTeens need at least 40 hours of behind-the-wheel practice and a training program: 30 hours of classroom training at a commercial driving school or high school, or home training that includes an eight-hour safe driving practices course. A parent or legal guardian must attend a two-hour training course. With commercial or high school training the permit must be held 120 days before the road test; otherwise, 180 days. | Connecticut Driver's Manual (revised March 2023), PDFchecked 2026-11-01 |
| Learners 18 and older | Hold the permit 90 days; eight-hour Safe Driving Practices courseYou must hold the learner's permit for at least 90 days before the road test and drive with a driving school or high school instructor or a qualified trainer aged 20 or older licensed for four or more consecutive years with no suspension. The eight-hour course applies if you have never held a Connecticut license or a valid license from another state. | Connecticut Driver's Manual (revised March 2023), PDFchecked 2026-11-01 |
| New teen license restrictions | Curfew 11 p.m. to 5 a.m. until 18; passenger limits for the first yearFor the first six months the only passengers allowed are a licensed driving instructor, parents or legal guardians (at least one licensed), or one person aged 20 or older licensed for four years with no recent suspension. In months seven to twelve, immediate family may also ride. The curfew has exceptions for employment, school, religious activities, medical necessity and Safe Ride drivers, and volunteer emergency responders on duty are exempt from both rules. Until 18 you may not use any cell phone or mobile electronic device while driving, even hands-free. | Connecticut Driver's Manual (revised March 2023), PDFchecked 2026-11-01 |
| License fee | $84 for a new regular license, plus the $40 exam feeThe DMV fee page lists a new non-commercial license at $84, issued for five and a half to seven years to expire on your birthday, and says customers also pay the $40 examination fee. The manual gives the same $84. After passing the road test you wait 48 hours before taking your passed Road Test Evaluation Report to a DMV office. | Connecticut DMV: DMV feeschecked 2026-11-01 |
| Adult 90-day wait exemptions | No 90-day wait if you held a license beforeAdults still need the learner's permit, but the DMV says the 90-day practice period does not apply to active-duty military stationed out of state, people with a Connecticut permit or license on DMV records, or people who previously held a license elsewhere (bring the expired license or a driving history). License holders from another US state or territory, Germany, Canada or France can transfer without a permit. | Connecticut DMV: Get an adult learner's permitchecked 2026-11-01 |
| Manual edition | Connecticut Driver's Manual, revised March 2023The knowledge test is based on this manual. The manual itself says DMV laws change often and tells readers to check the DMV website for the most up-to-date information, including the documents to bring. | Connecticut Driver's Manual (revised March 2023), PDFchecked 2026-11-01 |
Full tests
- Test 125 questions · untimed · pass 20difficulty 1 of 6
- Test 225 questions · untimed · pass 20difficulty 2 of 6
- Test 325 questions · untimed · pass 20difficulty 3 of 6
- Test 425 questions · untimed · pass 20difficulty 4 of 6
- Test 525 questions · untimed · pass 20difficulty 5 of 6
- Test 625 questions · untimed · pass 20difficulty 6 of 6
Handbook chapters
- Chapter 1: Getting your permit and licenseHow to get a Connecticut learner's permit and license: the vision and 25-question knowledge tests, qualified trainers, driver education, waiting periods, the road test, the work zone course, fees, retakes and the teen restrictions.
- Chapter 2: Your vehicle, seat belts and phonesConnecticut's vehicle checks, the penny tread test, mirror and seat set-up, the seat belt and child restraint laws, the $75 belt fine, the cell phone law and continuous insurance.
- Chapter 3: Good driving practices and work zonesStarting, accelerating and steering, hand positions, scanning 12 seconds ahead, checking intersections and railroad crossings, blocking the box, and Connecticut's work zone rules and fines.
- Chapter 4: Sharing the roadConnecticut's Vulnerable User Law and three-foot passing rule, emergency vehicles and the Move Over Law, pedestrians and crosswalks, bicyclists, motorcycles, slow vehicles, ice cream trucks, horses and the No-Zones around trucks.
- Chapter 5: Space, lanes, passing and turningKeeping a space cushion: the three-second and four-second rules, merging gaps, tailgaters, blind spots, changing lanes, Connecticut's keep-right law, safe passing distances, turning lanes, backing and seeing over hills and curves.
- Chapter 6: Hazards, distractions and fatigueDriving on gravel, curves, wet, snowy and icy roads, Connecticut's studded tire dates, hydroplaning, aggressive driving and road rage, distractions, drowsy driving, health and emotions.
- Chapter 7: Alcohol, drugs and the lawHow alcohol and drugs affect driving, what counts as one drink, Connecticut's 45-day suspensions and ignition interlock rules, zero tolerance under 21, teen suspension penalties, youthful offender limits, police stops and the operator retraining program.
- Chapter 8: Rules of the roadConnecticut's rules on speed, stopping distances, right-of-way, four-way stops, school buses, roundabouts, U-turns, no-parking distances, headlights, the horn and turn signals.
- Chapter 9: Vehicle emergencies and crashesWhat to do when your car breaks down, the brakes fail, a tire blows out, the engine or headlights quit or the gas pedal sticks; stopping with and without ABS, steering out of trouble, skids, and your duties after a crash in Connecticut.
- Chapter 10: Signs, signals and pavement markingsConnecticut pavement markings and lane lines, reserved and reversible lanes, traffic lights, arrows and HAWK signals, and the shapes, colors and meanings of regulatory, warning, guide, work area and railroad signs.