Fable Tests

Ohio practice tests

The Ohio knowledge test has 40 multiple-choice questions on motor vehicle regulations and traffic signs, and you must answer 75 percent correctly to pass, which is 30 of 40. You can take it from age 15 years and six months, online through BMV Online Services or in person at a driver exam station or a select deputy registrar, and you also need a vision screening before you can buy a temporary instruction permit (TIPIC). Our free Ohio practice sets follow the real format, 40 questions with 30 to pass, and every answer comes from the Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws (the official Ohio Driver Manual) or the BMV permit page.

  • 40 questions
  • 30 to pass

The test in Ohio

Every figure links to the page it was read from, with the date it was checked. Formats change; the source wins over this table.

WhatFigureSource · checked
Questions40 multiple-choice questionsThe BMV says the test covers motor vehicle regulations and traffic signs, and you must pass it together with a vision screening to get a temporary instruction permit identification card (TIPIC).Ohio BMV: Driver License and ID Cards, First Issuance (temporary permit and knowledge test)checked 2026-11-02
To pass75 percent correct (30 of 40)The BMV words the rule as answering 75 percent of the questions correctly; on 40 questions that is 30. Our practice sets use the same rule: 40 questions, 30 correct to pass.Ohio BMV: Driver License and ID Cards, First Issuance (temporary permit and knowledge test)checked 2026-11-02
Time limitNot statedNeither the BMV page nor the Digest gives a time limit for the knowledge test. Our sets have no time limit.Ohio BMV: Driver License and ID Cards, First Issuance (temporary permit and knowledge test)checked 2026-11-02
Signs partNot a separate partThe BMV describes one 40-question test on motor vehicle regulations and traffic signs, with no separate signs section or separate signs pass mark. Our sets mix sign questions, with pictures, into the 40.Ohio BMV: Driver License and ID Cards, First Issuance (temporary permit and knowledge test)checked 2026-11-02
Minimum age15 years and 6 monthsThis is the earliest age to take the vision screening and knowledge test. After passing, you have 60 days to buy the TIPIC at a deputy registrar license agency, or you must start over. Under 18, a parent, guardian or other responsible person must co-sign.Ohio BMV: Driver License and ID Cards, First Issuance (temporary permit and knowledge test)checked 2026-11-02
Online testingYes, through BMV Online Services: two attempts in six monthsAsked about phones and tablets, the BMV says to use a computer or laptop with a working webcam. Applicants aged 15 and a half to under 19 need a supervising adult. You must wait 24 hours between online attempts. If you test online, the vision screening is done at the deputy registrar when you buy the TIPIC. Some applicants, such as those with a suspended license or an active out-of-state license, must test in person.Ohio BMV: Driver License and ID Cards, First Issuance (temporary permit and knowledge test)checked 2026-11-02
RetakesWait at least 24 hours; no limit in personThe BMV page says you must wait at least 24 hours before retesting and may test in person as many times as needed. The Digest (Section 1) puts it as waiting one day, with one attempt per day.Ohio BMV: Driver License and ID Cards, First Issuance (temporary permit and knowledge test)checked 2026-11-02
LanguagesNine languages in text and audio, plus American Sign LanguageArabic, Chinese, English, French, Haitian Creole, Japanese, Russian, Somali and Spanish, in text and audio, and American Sign Language in text and video. For another language you may schedule a proctored test with your own interpreter at a driver exam station. You must be able to read traffic signs printed in English.Ohio BMV: Driver License and ID Cards, First Issuance (temporary permit and knowledge test)checked 2026-11-02
Permit (TIPIC) rulesUnder 16: parent, guardian or licensed driving instructor; 16 and 17: any licensed driver 21 or olderFrom 16, the supervisor may be any licensed driver aged 21 or older, except from midnight to 6 a.m., when it must be a parent, guardian, custodian, or a licensed driver 21 or older named on a notarized BMV 2438. The supervisor must not be intoxicated, everyone must wear safety belts, and you must carry the TIPIC. This follows the BMV page, which is newer than the Digest; the Digest's Section 1 names only a parent, guardian or custodian with a valid license for the midnight to 6 a.m. hours. At 18 and over, you may practice only with a licensed driver 21 or older.Ohio BMV: Driver License and ID Cards, First Issuance (temporary permit and knowledge test)checked 2026-11-02
Training and practice (under 21)Driver education (24 hours class, 8 hours driving), 50 practice hours with 10 at night, TIPIC held 6 months if under 18The classroom part may be in person or online, at a licensed driver training school. The 50 hours are logged on the BMV 5791 Fifty-Hour Affidavit, which you bring to the driving test. The six-month holding period applies to drivers under 18.Ohio BMV: Driver License and ID Cards, First Issuance (temporary permit and knowledge test)checked 2026-11-02
Probationary license limitsFirst 12 months: no driving midnight to 6 a.m. and no more than one non-family passenger without a parent or guardianExceptions to the hours apply with a parent, guardian or custodian, a licensed driver 21 or older named on a notarized BMV 2438, or documented travel to or from work (BMV 2825) or a school or religious event (BMV 2826). After 12 months and until 18, the restricted hours are 1 a.m. to 5 a.m. At all times under 18 you may not use any mobile device while driving, and everyone must wear safety belts.Ohio BMV: Driver License and ID Cards, First Issuance (temporary permit and knowledge test)checked 2026-11-02
FeesNot statedThe saved BMV page and the Digest do not print the permit or license fees; the BMV page only links to a separate fees page.Ohio BMV: Driver License and ID Cards, First Issuance (temporary permit and knowledge test)checked 2026-11-02
What to bringProof of full legal name, date of birth and Social Security number (if assigned)That is enough to test in person. To buy the TIPIC you also prove Ohio residency and citizenship or legal presence, using the BMV Acceptable Documents list. Bring your glasses or contact lenses for the vision screening if you wear them.Ohio BMV: Driver License and ID Cards, First Issuance (temporary permit and knowledge test)checked 2026-11-02
Manual editionOnline HTML Digest; no edition or revision date shownThe Ohio Driver Manual, the Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws, is published as web pages (Welcome and Sections 1 to 13) by the Ohio Department of Public Safety. No PDF edition was found: the old PDF link (publicsafety.ohio.gov/links/hsy7607.pdf) returns 404. The manual shows no edition or revision date, although each section page carries the page date January 26, 2024.Ohio Department of Public Safety: Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws (Ohio Driver Manual)checked 2026-11-02

Full tests

  1. Test 140 questions · untimed · pass 30difficulty 1 of 6
  2. Test 240 questions · untimed · pass 30difficulty 2 of 6
  3. Test 340 questions · untimed · pass 30difficulty 3 of 6
  4. Test 440 questions · untimed · pass 30difficulty 4 of 6
  5. Test 540 questions · untimed · pass 30difficulty 5 of 6
  6. Test 640 questions · untimed · pass 30difficulty 6 of 6

Handbook chapters

  1. Chapter 1: Getting your permit and licenseHow to get an Ohio temporary instruction permit (TIPIC): the 40-question knowledge test, vision screening, online testing, permit supervision rules, driver education, the 50-hour practice log and the probationary license limits.
  2. Chapter 2: Before you driveOhio vehicle equipment rules, tire tread and pressure, studded tire dates, when to use headlights and turn signals, seat and mirror set-up, air bags and safety belts.
  3. Chapter 3: Be alertOhio's rules on vision, fatigue, aggressive and distracted driving, the hand-held phone law for drivers 18 and older, the total device ban under 18, and how alcohol and drugs affect a driver.
  4. Chapter 4: Rules of the roadOhio speed limits by road type, the assured clear distance rule, right-of-way, traffic signals, regulatory, warning, work zone and guide signs, pavement markings, two-way left turn lanes and crosswalks.
  5. Chapter 5: Learning to driveOhio rules for starting, stopping and steering, where you must stop, turns and turn signals, turning on red, roundabouts, lane use, passing, railroad crossings, stopping for school buses and parking.
  6. Chapter 6: State laws and penaltiesOhio financial responsibility and minimum insurance, BAC limits, OVI and OVUAC, administrative license suspension for testing over the limit or refusing, impairing drugs, penalty points, under-18 suspensions, driving under suspension and child restraint laws.
  7. Chapter 7: Special situations and safe drivingWhat to do at an Ohio traffic stop, headlight rules, night, fog and winter driving, work zones, visual search, speed and space management, the four-second rule, stopping distance, using the horn and signals, and hot car dangers.
  8. Chapter 8: Sharing the roadOhio rules for pedestrians, school zones, motorcycles, bicycles and the three-foot passing rule, trucks and buses and their No Zones, emergency vehicles, the Move Over law, slow-moving vehicles, farm machinery and horse-drawn buggies.
  9. Chapter 9: Emergencies and crashesHow to avoid a crash by braking, steering or accelerating, skids, dark traffic signals, pavement drop-offs, brake failure, a stuck accelerator, tire blowouts, engine failure, breakdowns, and what Ohio requires after a crash.
  10. Chapter 10: The driving test and your licenseOhio's maneuverability and on-road driving tests, retest rules and the abbreviated adult driver training course, buying your license, co-signer liability, compliant and standard cards, renewal, license classes, mopeds, motorcycles and new resident rules.

Latest news

  1. Washington drivers under 25 now need a work zone course for a first license
  2. North Carolina drops the Driving Eligibility Certificate for teen permits
  3. Pennsylvania hands-free law: $50 fines replace warnings from June 2026

More news →