Texas practice tests
To get a Texas learner license you pass the Class C knowledge exam, scoring 70 percent or better, along with a vision exam. Teens can apply from age 15 after the first classroom hours of driver education, and many take the knowledge exam as part of their driver education course instead of at a DPS office. DPS does not publish how many questions the exam has, so our free Texas practice sets use our own size of 20 questions with 14 correct (70 percent) to pass, with road signs mixed in. Every answer comes from the Texas Driver Handbook (DL-7).
- 20 questions
- 14 to pass
The test in Texas
Every figure links to the page it was read from, with the date it was checked. Formats change; the source wins over this table.
| What | Figure | Source · checked |
|---|---|---|
| Knowledge exam | Class C knowledge exam; number of questions not publishedThe handbook calls it the knowledge exam, also known as the written exam, given to all original Class C applicants. Neither the handbook nor the DPS pages we read give the number of questions. Our six practice tests use 20 questions each; that size is our own choice. | Texas Department of Public Safety: Texas Driver Handbook (DL-7, revised January 2026), PDFchecked 2026-11-01 |
| To pass | 70 percent or betterThe handbook says you must score 70 percent or better to pass any knowledge exam. Our practice sets use the same rule: 14 of 20. | Texas Department of Public Safety: Texas Driver Handbook (DL-7, revised January 2026), PDFchecked 2026-11-01 |
| Time limit | Not statedDPS does not publish a time limit for the knowledge exam. Our sets have no time limit. | Texas Department of Public Safety: Texas Driver Handbook (DL-7, revised January 2026), PDFchecked 2026-11-01 |
| Road signs | No separate signs part describedThe handbook lists three knowledge exams (Class C, Class M and the Class A or B rules exam) and does not describe a separate road signs test. Signs are covered in Chapter 5, and our sets mix sign questions in with the rest. | Texas Department of Public Safety: Texas Driver Handbook (DL-7, revised January 2026), PDFchecked 2026-11-01 |
| Where you can take it | At a driver license office or during driver educationThe handbook says applicants under 25 who complete certain driver education courses do not take the Class C knowledge exam at the driver license office. The DPS learner license page asks for evidence of passing the exam, or says you take it at the office if you did not take it during the classroom part of driver education. | Texas DPS: Teen Drivers Phase I, Texas Learner Licensechecked 2026-11-01 |
| Languages | Not statedThe handbook and the DPS pages we read do not list the languages the knowledge exam is offered in. | Texas Department of Public Safety: Texas Driver Handbook (DL-7, revised January 2026), PDFchecked 2026-11-01 |
| Minimum age | 15 for a learner licenseYou must be at least 15 and under 18, have completed the required classroom hours of driver education, and pass the vision and knowledge exams. You may start the classroom phase at 14. DPS describes a concurrent method (6 classroom hours before the learner license, 18 more while practicing) and a block method (all 24 hours first). | Texas DPS: Choosing a driver education coursechecked 2026-11-01 |
| Learner license rules | Supervisor 21 or older with one year of experience in the front seat; hold for six monthsThe supervising driver must be at least 21, have at least one year of driving experience, sit beside the driver, and not be intoxicated, asleep or otherwise unable to watch and respond. A teen must hold the learner license for at least six months before a provisional license; a suspension adds its length to that period. No cell phone use, including hands-free, except in an emergency. The learner license expires on the 18th birthday. | Texas Department of Public Safety: Texas Driver Handbook (DL-7, revised January 2026), PDFchecked 2026-11-01 |
| Practice before the provisional license | 30 hours of behind-the-wheel practice, at least 10 at nightDPS lists the behind-the-wheel part of teen driver education as 7 hours of in-car observation, 7 hours of in-car instruction and 30 hours of practice driving, at least 10 at night, with a licensed driver 21 or older in the vehicle. Teens also complete the Impact Texas Teen Driver program within 90 days of the driving test. | Texas DPS: Teen Drivers Phase II, Texas Provisional Licensechecked 2026-11-01 |
| Provisional license restrictions | No more than one passenger under 21 who is not family; no driving from midnight to 5 a.m.The curfew exceptions are work, school-related activities and medical emergencies. All wireless device use, including hands-free, is banned under 18 except in an emergency. The provisional license is issued from 16 and expires on the 18th birthday. | Texas Department of Public Safety: Texas Driver Handbook (DL-7, revised January 2026), PDFchecked 2026-11-01 |
| Fee: learner license (under 18) | $16The DPS fee page lists $16 for a new learner license under 18, including the $1 administrative fee. It expires on the 18th birthday. The handbook learner license table gives the same $16 ($15 plus the $1 fee). | Texas DPS: Driver license feeschecked 2026-11-01 |
| Fee: first driver license | $16 under 18; $33 for ages 18 to 84The DPS fee page lists a new Class C license at $16 under 18 (expires on the 18th birthday) and $33 for ages 18 to 84 (valid eight years). Both include the $1 administrative fee, which is not charged on mail transactions. The handbook fee tables (Chapter 1 and Appendix D) give the same amounts. | Texas DPS: Driver license feeschecked 2026-11-01 |
| Adults 18 to 24 | 6-hour adult driver education courseDPS requires a 6-hour adult driver education course for first-time applicants aged 18 to 24; it is waived for new residents surrendering a valid license from another state. No driver education is required from 25. Every applicant taking a driving test needs an Impact Texas Drivers certificate dated within 90 days of the test. | Texas DPS: How to apply for a Texas driver licensechecked 2026-11-01 |
| Retakes | Application held 90 days; new application after 90 days or three failed examsIf you fail on the first try, DPS keeps your application open for 90 days. Once 90 days pass, or after three failed exams, you must apply again and pay a new fee. | Texas Department of Public Safety: Texas Driver Handbook (DL-7, revised January 2026), PDFchecked 2026-11-01 |
| What to bring | Application, proof of identity, Texas residency, Social Security number and driver education certificateFor a teen learner license DPS also asks for proof of U.S. citizenship or lawful presence if not a citizen, a high school diploma, GED or Verification of Enrollment and Attendance (VOE) form, and a parent or legal guardian or a notarized application signed by one. Applicants under 18 must have the application signed by a parent or guardian. | Texas DPS: Teen Drivers Phase I, Texas Learner Licensechecked 2026-11-01 |
| Handbook edition | Texas Driver Handbook (DL-7), revised January 2026Downloaded from the DPS website on 1 November 2026. | Texas Department of Public Safety: Texas Driver Handbook (DL-7, revised January 2026), PDFchecked 2026-11-01 |
Full tests
- Test 120 questions · untimed · pass 14difficulty 1 of 6
- Test 220 questions · untimed · pass 14difficulty 2 of 6
- Test 320 questions · untimed · pass 14difficulty 3 of 6
- Test 420 questions · untimed · pass 14difficulty 4 of 6
- Test 520 questions · untimed · pass 14difficulty 5 of 6
- Test 620 questions · untimed · pass 14difficulty 6 of 6
Handbook chapters
- Chapter 1: Your license to driveHow Texas teens and adults get a license: the learner license, driver education, the knowledge, vision and driving exams, the Graduated Driver License phases, provisional license limits, fees, renewals and suspensions.
- Chapter 2: Vehicle equipment, registration and insuranceTexas rules on yearly inspection, required and forbidden equipment, registration for new residents, minimum liability insurance and the penalties for driving uninsured.
- Chapter 3: Right-of-wayWho goes first at Texas intersections, frontage roads, railroad crossings, school buses, emergency vehicles and crosswalks, with the fines for failing to yield.
- Chapter 4: Signals, signs and pavement markingsTexas traffic lights, sign colors and shapes, warning, regulatory and guide signs, lane-use signals, railroad signs, pavement markings and work zone devices.
- Chapter 5: Signaling, passing and turningWhen and how to signal in Texas, where you may not drive on the left, how to pass on two-lane roads, when passing on the right is allowed, and the steps for safe right and left turns.
- Chapter 6: Parking, stopping and standingWhere you may not stop, stand or park in Texas, the distances from hydrants, crosswalks, signals and railroad tracks, disabled parking rules, parallel parking and parking on hills.
- Chapter 7: Speed and special driving situationsTexas speed limits, following distance and stopping distances, Slow Down or Move Over, headlights and night driving, freeways, highway hypnosis, skids, breakdowns, winter roads, roundabouts and floods.
- Chapter 8: Sharing the roadTexas rules and tips for driving near trucks, motorcycles, light rail, bicycles and pedestrians, including blind spots, following distances and the most common crashes.
- Chapter 9: Alcohol and drugsHow alcohol and other drugs affect driving, the Texas 0.08 limit and zero tolerance for drivers under 21, implied consent, open containers, and the penalties for minors and adults.
- Chapter 10: Crashes and other safety lawsWhat Texas drivers must do after a crash, helping the injured, safety belt and child seat laws, open-bed trucks, traffic stops, road rage, towing and carbon monoxide.