Fable Tests

Alabama practice tests

The Alabama knowledge test is a written test, taken at an ALEA Driver License office, with questions on Alabama traffic laws, road signs and safe driving rules, all drawn from the Alabama Driver Manual. You must receive a passing grade, but ALEA does not publish how many questions the test has or what score passes, and road signs are not a separately scored part. The test costs $5, and you can take it for a learner license from age 15. Our free Alabama practice has 6 tests of 25 questions, with 20 correct (80 percent) to pass. That size and mark are our own practice choices, not official figures, and every answer comes from the Alabama Driver Manual (November 2024) and ALEA's own pages.

  • 25 questions
  • 20 to pass

The test in Alabama

Every figure links to the page it was read from, with the date it was checked. Formats change; the source wins over this table.

WhatFigureSource · checked
QuestionsNot publishedThe manual says the knowledge test covers three subjects, Alabama traffic laws, road signs and safe driving rules, all drawn from the Alabama Driver Manual. Neither the manual nor the ALEA pages give the number of questions. Our six practice tests use 25 questions each; that size is our own choice.Alabama Driver Manual (November 2024), PDFchecked 2026-11-01
To passA passing grade; the score needed is not publishedThe Graduated Driver License page says a Stage I applicant must complete the written examination and receive a passing grade, without saying what that grade is. Our practice tests need 20 of 25 (80 percent), which is our own mark, not ALEA's.ALEA: Graduated Driver Licensechecked 2026-11-01
Road signsPart of the same test, not a separately scored partRoad signs are one of the three subjects the knowledge test covers. No official source describes a separate signs test or a minimum signs score, so our sets mix sign picture questions in with the others.Alabama Driver Manual (November 2024), PDFchecked 2026-11-01
Time limitNot statedNeither the manual nor the ALEA pages state a time limit for the knowledge test. Our sets have no time limit.Alabama Driver Manual (November 2024), PDFchecked 2026-11-01
Test fee$5 per knowledge test, no checksThe manual and the Document Requirements and Fees page both list a $5 test fee and say checks are not accepted.ALEA: Document Requirements and Feeschecked 2026-11-01
How the test is givenAutomated testing at a Driver License office; oral tests available; online testing not statedThe manual says automated testing is available to all applicants taking the knowledge test, and oral examinations can be given on the automated equipment for applicants who cannot read the test. No official source mentions taking the test online at home.Alabama Driver Manual (November 2024), PDFchecked 2026-11-01
LanguagesEnglish, plus Arabic, Chinese, Farsi, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Russian, Spanish, Thai and VietnameseThe manual lists these foreign-language written examinations and says details are available at a Driver License District Office.Alabama Driver Manual (November 2024), PDFchecked 2026-11-01
Minimum age15 for a learner license (Stage I); 16 to drive without supervisionAny person 15 years of age may get a restricted learner license after passing the knowledge test. The minimum age for an unsupervised license is 16.ALEA: Graduated Driver Licensechecked 2026-11-01
Learner license supervisionAt 15: a parent, legal guardian or licensed driver aged 21 or older in the front seat, or a licensed or certified driving instructor; from 16: any licensed driver beside youThe manual says a 15-year-old's supervisor must be 21 or older and duly licensed in Alabama, or a licensed or certified driving instructor, and that after the 16th birthday any licensed driver may sit beside the learner. The GDL page words the 15-year-old rule as a parent, legal guardian or licensed driver aged 21 or older. The learner license is valid for four years.Alabama Driver Manual (November 2024), PDFchecked 2026-11-01
Time held and practiceHold Stage I for at least 6 months if under 18; 50 hours of practice or approved driver educationApplicants under 18 must hold a Stage I license for at least six months before a Stage II license. Students must give either an ALEA form, signed by a parent, grandparent, legal guardian or certified driving instructor, showing at least 50 hours of behind-the-wheel practice, or proof of completing a State Department of Education approved driver education course. A night-driving practice requirement is not stated.ALEA: Graduated Driver Licensechecked 2026-11-01
Stage II (restricted license) rulesNo driving from midnight to 6 a.m. (with exceptions); no more than 1 passenger besides parents, guardians or family; no handheld devicesStage II needs age 16, a parent or guardian's permission and a passed road test. Night exceptions: with a parent or guardian, with a licensed driver 21 or older with parental consent, to or from work, school or religious events, or for a medical, fire or police emergency. Breaking a restriction extends the restricted period by six months or until 18; a second moving violation, or offenses such as reckless driving or illegal passing, brings an automatic 60-day suspension.ALEA: Graduated Driver Licensechecked 2026-11-01
Stage III (unrestricted license)Age 17 with 6 months on Stage II, or age 18 and older with a passed road testThe rules do not apply to drivers 18 or older, to 17-year-olds who have held a license for six months, to married heads of household aged 16 or older, or to minors legally relieved of minority status.ALEA: Graduated Driver Licensechecked 2026-11-01
License fees$36.25 for Stage I; $36.25 for Stage II; $31.25 or $36.25 for Stage IIIStage III costs $31.25 for a restriction-free duplicate when you present a Stage II license, or $36.25 if you did not get a Stage II license before turning 18. ALEA accepts cash or money orders, not checks, and fees may be slightly higher in some counties.ALEA: Graduated Driver Licensechecked 2026-11-01
What to bring (age 16 and older)Two IDs (one with a photo, one from the primary list) or three non-photo IDs, Social Security card, school enrollment form if under 19, 2 proofs of residence, $5 test feeA 15-year-old must bring a certified U.S. birth certificate (no photocopies), Social Security card, proof of school enrollment or graduation, 2 proofs of principal residence and the $5 testing fee, then $36.25 for the license.ALEA: Document Requirements and Feeschecked 2026-11-01
Manual editionAlabama Driver Manual, November 2024Published by the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency, Driver License Division, and linked from ALEA's Driver License Manuals page.ALEA: Driver License Manualschecked 2026-11-01
Speed limits (manual and ALEA page differ)Both list 70 mph on interstates, 55 mph on other roads unless posted, 45 mph on county roads and 35 mph on unpaved roadsThe manual adds 30 mph in an urban district and 65 mph where posted. ALEA's Highway Patrol speed limit page instead lists 65 mph on roads with four or more lanes, 25 mph in residential areas and 15 mph in school zones. Our questions use only the limits both sources agree on.ALEA Highway Patrol: Speed Limitschecked 2026-11-01
Move-over law (manual and ALEA page differ)Move out of the lane next to a stopped emergency vehicle or wrecker, or slow to at least 15 mph below the limitThe manual applies the lane rule on roads with four or more lanes. The newer law on ALEA's Move Over Act page (Act 2024-295) applies it on highways with two or more lanes in your direction and also covers utility, road work and garbage vehicles. On two-lane roads both say move away within your lane and slow to 15 mph below the limit, or to 10 mph where the limit is 20 mph or less; follow the newer law.ALEA Highway Patrol: Alabama Move Over Actchecked 2026-11-01

Full tests

  1. Test 125 questions · untimed · pass 20difficulty 1 of 6
  2. Test 225 questions · untimed · pass 20difficulty 2 of 6
  3. Test 325 questions · untimed · pass 20difficulty 3 of 6
  4. Test 425 questions · untimed · pass 20difficulty 4 of 6
  5. Test 525 questions · untimed · pass 20difficulty 5 of 6
  6. Test 625 questions · untimed · pass 20difficulty 6 of 6

Handbook chapters

  1. Chapter 1: Getting your learner license and driver licenseAlabama's knowledge test, the learner license at 15 and 16, who may supervise you, the graduated license stages, fees, ID documents, vision screening, the road test and renewing or changing your license.
  2. Chapter 2: How you can lose your licenseCancellation, revocation and suspension of an Alabama license, the reinstatement fees, the offenses that bring mandatory revocation, and the Alabama point system with its suspension schedule.
  3. Chapter 3: The driving taskGood habits, turning rules, three-point turns, sharing the road with bicycles, motorcycles and large trucks, parking rules and distances, parking on hills, and Alabama's seat belt and child restraint laws.
  4. Chapter 4: The driver: attention, alcohol, following distance and crashesHow emotions, phones, fatigue, alcohol and drugs affect driving in Alabama, the BAC limits and DUI penalties, implied consent, the two-second rule, stopping distances, what to do after a crash, and railroad crossing safety.
  5. Chapter 5: Signs, signals, pavement markings and roundaboutsAlabama's regulatory, warning and guide signs by shape and color, the four-way stop rule, traffic lights and arrows, lane-use signals, pavement markings, mileposts and how to drive a roundabout.
  6. Chapter 6: Traffic laws: speed, stopping, right of way and passingAlabama's basic speed law and statutory speed limits, when you must stop, school buses, right-of-way rules, passing, pedestrians, emergency vehicles, backing, lane changes, hand signals, loads, traffic stops, insurance, window tint and the move-over law.
  7. Chapter 7: Night, weather and driving emergenciesAlabama headlight rules, dimming distances, glare, winter and wet roads, skids, hydroplaning, fog, hills, carbon monoxide, and what to do in emergencies from blowouts and brake failure to stalling on railroad tracks.
  8. Chapter 8: Freeways and your vehicleEntering, driving and leaving Alabama freeways, the four interchange types, breakdowns and *HP, plus the equipment Alabama law requires: brakes, lights, mirrors, horn, muffler and legal tires.

Latest news

  1. Washington drivers under 25 now need a work zone course for a first license
  2. North Carolina drops the Driving Eligibility Certificate for teen permits
  3. Pennsylvania hands-free law: $50 fines replace warnings from June 2026

More news →