Fable Tests

Arkansas practice tests

The Arkansas driver knowledge exam is a computer test given by the Arkansas State Police at its driver testing sites, and you must pass it, with a vision test, to get an instruction permit from age 14. The State Police testing instructions say you pass with 20 correct answers, and that you may skip up to two questions, but no official source gives the total number of questions. Road signs are part of the same exam, with no separately scored signs part, and each written exam costs $5. Our free Arkansas practice has 6 tests of 25 questions, with 20 correct to pass, and sign pictures mixed in. The 25-question size is our own practice size, not an official figure, and every answer comes from the Arkansas Driver License Study Guide (October 2026).

  • 25 questions
  • 20 to pass

The test in Arkansas

Every figure links to the page it was read from, with the date it was checked. Formats change; the source wins over this table.

WhatFigureSource · checked
QuestionsNot publishedNeither the Arkansas Driver License Study Guide nor the State Police testing instructions and checklists give the number of questions on the knowledge exam. Our six practice tests use 25 questions each; that size is our own choice, not an official figure.Arkansas Driver License Study Guide (Edition 10, October 2026), PDFchecked 2026-11-01
To pass20 correct answersThe State Police audio testing instructions (version 08/2017) say: "If you get 20 correct answers before those questions return, you will not have to answer the skipped questions. If you do not have 20 correct answers, you may see those questions again, if you need them to pass." Our practice tests use the same mark: 20 correct out of our 25 questions.Arkansas State Police: Driver's Audio Testing Instructions (08/2017), PDFchecked 2026-11-01
Skipping questionsUp to two questions may be skippedThe same instructions say a skip button lets you skip two questions, skipped questions do not count against you, and they roll to the end of the test. The instructions also show the computer kiosk reading answer choices A, B and C aloud. Our practice questions have four options each.Arkansas State Police: Driver's Audio Testing Instructions (08/2017), PDFchecked 2026-11-01
Road signsPart of the same exam, not a separately scored partNo official Arkansas source describes a separate signs test or a minimum signs score. The study guide covers signs inside its chapter on rules and regulations, so our sets mix sign picture questions in with the others.Arkansas Driver License Study Guide (Edition 10, October 2026), PDFchecked 2026-11-01
Time limitNot statedNeither the study guide nor the State Police testing instructions and checklists state a time limit for the knowledge exam. Our sets have no time limit.Arkansas Driver License Study Guide (Edition 10, October 2026), PDFchecked 2026-11-01
Exam fee$5 for each written examAct 1289 of 2015 requires a $5.00 fee for each written examination, with no limit on the number of exams charged. The fee is added to the cost of your license and collected by the Department of Finance and Administration, separate from any duplicate fee.Arkansas Driver License Study Guide (Edition 10, October 2026), PDFchecked 2026-11-01
Where and howArkansas State Police driver testing sites; appointments onlineThe study guide points applicants to the State Police online scheduler (telegov.egov.com/aspdlskills) and lists the appointment types. One of them, the Driver's License Test for Learning Differences, gives an oral test with an examiner, though not every location offers it. The audio testing instructions say the kiosk reads the questions and answers through headphones, and you present an IEP, 504 plan or other professional evaluation. The State Police Driver Examination page could not be reached from our network on 1 Nov 2026, so we do not repeat details printed only there.Arkansas Driver License Study Guide (Edition 10, October 2026), PDFchecked 2026-11-01
Languages and online testingNot statedNo source we hold lists the languages of the knowledge exam or offers an online exam (the State Police Driver Examination page still refused our request on 1 Nov 2026); the exam is taken on a kiosk at a testing site. The study guide says the State Police are not associated with third-party practice test websites and offer their own testing app, AR Driver Testing, in the Google Play and Apple app stores.Arkansas Driver License Study Guide (Edition 10, October 2026), PDFchecked 2026-11-01
Minimum age14 for an instruction permitYou must be at least 14 and pass the knowledge exam and vision test. Under 18, a parent or legal guardian must sign and accept financial responsibility, in person or on the notarized ASP-33 form.Arkansas Driver License Study Guide (Edition 10, October 2026), PDFchecked 2026-11-01
Instruction permit rulesLicensed driver aged 21 or older in the seat beside you; valid 2 yearsThe permit is issued for two years from the date you pass the knowledge exam, and all passengers must wear seat belts. The skills checklist adds that the permit cannot be renewed or extended: the skills exam must be passed and a license bought before it expires, or you retake all phases of the exam.Arkansas State Police: 1-2-3 Skills Checklist (October 2026), PDFchecked 2026-11-01
Practice hoursNot statedNeither the study guide nor the official pages set a required number of supervised practice hours.Arkansas Driver License Study Guide (Edition 10, October 2026), PDFchecked 2026-11-01
Learner's licenseAges 14 to 16; always with a licensed driver aged 21 or olderIssued after the knowledge exam, vision test and skills test, at a Revenue Office. It stays restricted until your 16th birthday and until six months of restricted driving are complete. All passengers must wear seat belts, and cell phone use, talking or texting, is banned except in an emergency. You cannot have had a crash or a serious traffic violation conviction in the six months before you apply.Arkansas Driver License Study Guide (Edition 10, October 2026), PDFchecked 2026-11-01
Intermediate license restrictionsAges 16 to 18: one unrelated minor passenger; no driving 11 p.m. to 4 a.m.More than one unrelated minor passenger is allowed only with a licensed driver aged 21 or older in the front seat. The study guide bars intermediate drivers from the road from 11 p.m. to 4 a.m., except when a licensed driver aged 21 or older is along and the trip is to or from a job, a school or church activity, or an emergency. A licensed driver aged 21 or older must also ride along until six months from the permit date have passed, and cell phone use is banned except in an emergency.Arkansas Driver License Study Guide (Edition 10, October 2026), PDFchecked 2026-11-01
Clean driving recordNo crash or serious violation in the 6 months before a learner's licenseThe study guide says a learner's license applicant cannot have been in a traffic crash or convicted of a serious traffic violation in the six months before applying.Arkansas Driver License Study Guide (Edition 10, October 2026), PDFchecked 2026-11-01
Clean record for the intermediate and regular licenseIntermediate: no serious violation or at-fault crash in the past 6 months; regular at 18: clean record for the past yearThe Department of Finance and Administration page on learner's and intermediate licenses says eligibility for an intermediate license depends on no serious traffic violations or at-fault accidents during the previous six months, and that at 18 a teen may apply for a regular, unrestricted license if the driving record has been clean for the previous year. It gives the learner's license as ages 14 to 15 and the intermediate as ages 16 to 17.Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration: Learner's and Intermediate Licensechecked 2026-11-01
When teen licenses expireOne month past the 16th, 18th or 21st birthdayThe DFA page says a learner's license expires one month past your 16th birthday, an intermediate license one month past your 18th, and a Class D license issued at 18 to 21 one month past your 21st. Each can be renewed on or after that birthday.Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration: Learner's and Intermediate Licensechecked 2026-11-01
Unrestricted license before 18Possible at 16 or 17 with a waiver and 6 months of driving experienceThe DFA page lists four waivers: legally emancipated (17 and older), high school diploma or GED (16 and older), married (16 and older, with the marriage certificate or license) and enlisted in the U.S. military (16 and older).Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration: Learner's and Intermediate Licensechecked 2026-11-01
Class D at 18 to 20Hands-free phone allowed; hand-held only in an emergencyTexting while driving is illegal at every age. Drivers under 18 may not use a cell phone at all, even hands-free, except in an emergency.Arkansas Driver License Study Guide (Edition 10, October 2026), PDFchecked 2026-11-01
Fees: permit and licenseProrated; no dollar amount printedThe study guide and State Police checklists print only the $5 written exam fee. The Department of Finance and Administration page on learner's and intermediate licenses lists the learner's, intermediate and under-21 Class D license fees only as prorated, without a dollar figure, so we give none here.Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration: Learner's and Intermediate Licensechecked 2026-11-01
What to bring (under 18)Original or certified U.S. birth certificate, a parent or legal guardian's signature, and an ASP-33 formNo hospital, laminated, photocopied or scanned birth certificates. U.S.-citizen minors cannot use a U.S. passport as the primary document. A parent may sign in person with a state license or ID, or sign a notarized ASP-33 to hand in within 30 days. A stepparent cannot sign without proof of adoption. Bring your glasses or contacts if you wear them.Arkansas State Police: Driver Knowledge Testing 1-2-3 Checklist, under 18, PDFchecked 2026-11-01
What to bring (18 and older)Two primary documents, or one primary and one secondaryPrimary documents include a U.S. original or certified birth certificate and a U.S. passport or passport card; secondary documents include a state ID, a certified school transcript or a marriage certificate.Arkansas State Police: Driver Knowledge Testing 1-2-3 Checklist, 18 and older, PDFchecked 2026-11-01
Vision20/40 uncorrected for an unrestricted license; 20/70 corrected for a restricted oneYour field of vision must be 140 degrees with two functional eyes or 105 degrees with one. A vision test and a vision referral form (ASP-90) are valid for one year, and referral forms must be completed by an Arkansas optometrist; out-of-state or online optometrists are not accepted.Arkansas Driver License Study Guide (Edition 10, October 2026), PDFchecked 2026-11-01
Skills testBring your permit, a licensed driver aged 21 or older, proof of insurance and registrationYou are allowed three missed vehicle controls before the test is failed. Two misses in the same category fail the exam with a two-week penalty, and automatic failures carry a 30-day penalty. The study guide does not state a waiting period after a failed knowledge exam.Arkansas Driver License Study Guide (Edition 10, October 2026), PDFchecked 2026-11-01
ManualArkansas Driver License Study Guide, Volume 1, Edition 10, October 2026Published by the Arkansas State Police. Where the study guide gives two different figures for the same rule (the fine under the move-over law appears as both $1,000 and $500), we do not ask about that figure. Our questions are our own, written from the study guide's rules.Arkansas Driver License Study Guide (Edition 10, October 2026), PDFchecked 2026-11-01

Full tests

  1. Test 125 questions · untimed · pass 20difficulty 1 of 6
  2. Test 225 questions · untimed · pass 20difficulty 2 of 6
  3. Test 325 questions · untimed · pass 20difficulty 3 of 6
  4. Test 425 questions · untimed · pass 20difficulty 4 of 6
  5. Test 525 questions · untimed · pass 20difficulty 5 of 6
  6. Test 625 questions · untimed · pass 20difficulty 6 of 6

Handbook chapters

  1. Chapter 1: Getting your permit and licenseThe Arkansas knowledge exam and its pass mark, the instruction permit at 14, the learner's, intermediate and Class D licenses, vision rules, the documents to bring and the $5 exam fee.
  2. Chapter 2: Arkansas laws every driver must knowArkansas seat belt and child seat laws, smoking with children, littering, hot cars, the move-over law, school buses, accessible parking and what to do when a police officer stops you.
  3. Chapter 3: Work zones and flaggersDriving through Arkansas work zones: standard and mobile work zones, flashing green lights, orange work zone signs, doubled fines, speed cameras, merging early and obeying flaggers.
  4. Chapter 4: Signals, signs and railroad crossingsArkansas traffic lights and arrows, right on red, STOP, YIELD, speed limit and DO NOT ENTER signs, warning and regulatory signs, the slow-moving vehicle emblem and every railroad crossing sign and rule.
  5. Chapter 5: Lanes, right of way, roundabouts and parkingArkansas pavement markings, shared center turn lanes, lane rules, passing, turns, crosswalks, right of way at intersections and four-way stops, roundabouts and every no-parking distance.
  6. Chapter 6: Safe driving, distractions and staying alertWearing a seat belt properly, smooth acceleration, steering and stopping, Arkansas cell phone and texting laws, looking ahead 15 seconds, checking mirrors and blind spots, changing lanes and backing.
  7. Chapter 7: Seeing, being seen, speed and spaceArkansas headlight rules, high and low beams, the horn, hazard lights, signaling, adjusting speed for curves, rain, ice and hydroplaning, keeping pace, the two-second and four-second rules and safe passing.
  8. Chapter 8: Sharing the road with trucks, bicycles and motorcyclesTractor-trailer stopping distances, wide right turns and No-Zones, how to pass a truck, bicycle rights and lane positions, passing cyclists, and why drivers miss motorcycles.
  9. Chapter 9: Driving fitness, alcohol and drugsVision, hearing, fatigue and health conditions, how alcohol affects judgment, what counts as one drink, Arkansas BAC limits for adults and drivers under 21, chemical tests, other drugs and organ donation.
  10. Chapter 10: Emergencies, crashes and the skills testWhat to do when brakes, tires, the engine, headlights or the accelerator fail, how to stop, turn or speed up to avoid a crash, skids, Arkansas crash duties and reports, vehicle checks and the skills test.

Latest news

  1. Washington drivers under 25 now need a work zone course for a first license
  2. North Carolina drops the Driving Eligibility Certificate for teen permits
  3. Pennsylvania hands-free law: $50 fines replace warnings from June 2026

More news →