Hawaii practice tests
The Hawaii written test for a class 3 learner's permit has 30 multiple-choice questions on traffic laws, signs and safe driving, and the counties do not publish a pass mark on the pages we could read. Teens can get an instruction permit at 15 and a half, a provisional license at 16 and a full license at 17. Licensing is run by the four counties under state rules. Our free Hawaii practice sets follow the real format of 30 questions, with 24 of 30 (80 percent) as our own practice standard for a pass, and every answer comes from the Hawaii Driver's Manual (2023 edition).
- 30 questions
- 60 minutes
- 24 to pass
The test in Hawaii
Every figure links to the page it was read from, with the date it was checked. Formats change; the source wins over this table.
| What | Figure | Source · checked |
|---|---|---|
| Questions | 30 multiple-choice questionsThe City and County of Honolulu says the learner's permit written test has 30 questions, and its graduated licensing page calls it a 30 question multiple-choice written examination. The manual says the knowledge test covers rules of the road and traffic control devices. | City and County of Honolulu: Online Learner's Permit Testchecked 2026-11-01 |
| To pass | Not published; our practice standard is 24 of 30The counties do not publish a pass mark on the pages we could read. Honolulu's online permit test page gives the number of questions and the time limit but no pass mark. Our practice sets use 24 of 30 (80 percent) as our own practice standard, not an official figure. | City and County of Honolulu: Online Learner's Permit Testchecked 2026-11-01 |
| Signs part | Part of the one written test; no separate pass markThe manual lists one knowledge test on rules of the road and traffic control devices, and no official page we read sets a separate signs section or pass mark. The share of sign questions is not published, so our sets include five sign-picture questions in each test of 30. | Hawaii Driver's Manual (2023 edition), PDFchecked 2026-11-01 |
| Time limit | 60 minutes for the online testHonolulu's online permit test page gives one hour to complete the 30 question online test. A time limit for the in-person test at a driver licensing center is not stated. Our sets use the one-hour limit. | City and County of Honolulu: Online Learner's Permit Testchecked 2026-11-01 |
| Languages and accommodations | Online test in English and Spanish; oral tests availableThe online test is offered in English and Spanish and can be read aloud by the testing program. Oral testing is arranged by each county. In Honolulu, applicants who cannot read or write English book the written test at the Kapalama center, and the clerk sets an oral test by phone translation on a Tuesday or in an English classroom session on a Thursday, for a $10 fee; Honolulu's fee table lists oral tests at Kapalama and Wahiawa. The state posts the driver's manual in English and 13 other languages. | City and County of Honolulu: Driver's License Frequently Asked Questionschecked 2026-11-01 |
| Online testing | Yes, for class 3 (car) permits, with a webcam-equipped computerThe online test (Know To Drive Online) needs a desktop or laptop with a webcam; phones and tablets are not allowed, and applicants under 18 need an adult over 21 present at registration. The cost is the county fee plus $10: $12 in Honolulu, $11 in Hawaii County, $20 in Kauai County and $25 in Maui County. After passing you have 60 days to finish the permit at a driver licensing center. | City and County of Honolulu: Online Learner's Permit Testchecked 2026-11-01 |
| Minimum age | 15 years and 6 months for an instruction permitApplicants under 18 need a birth certificate and a parental consent affidavit signed by the custodial parent or parents (or guardian). In Honolulu both parents named on the birth certificate must sign, in person or on a notarized form. | City and County of Honolulu: Graduated Driver Licensing Program (GDL)checked 2026-11-01 |
| Instruction permit rules | Supervisor 21 or older beside you; parent or guardian only from 11 p.m. to 5 a.m.; hold it 180 daysThe supervisor must be licensed for the same type of vehicle and seated next to the driver. All occupants must wear seat belts, and children under 4 must be in a safety seat. You must hold the permit for at least 180 days before a provisional license. A required number of practice hours, including night hours, is not stated. | City and County of Honolulu: Graduated Driver Licensing Program (GDL)checked 2026-11-01 |
| Provisional license (16 and 17) | Driver education certificates and a road test; one passenger under 18; no driving 11 p.m. to 5 a.m. without a parent or guardianYou need the classroom and behind-the-wheel certificates from a State certified driver education course. You may carry only one person under 18 who is not a household member unless your parent or guardian is with you. Late-night driving alone is allowed only to or from work or a school-authorized activity, with a signed statement from the employer or parent. A first violation brings a 3-month suspension and a second a 6-month revocation. The provisional license expires on your 19th birthday. | City and County of Honolulu: Graduated Driver Licensing Program (GDL)checked 2026-11-01 |
| Full license | Age 17, after holding the provisional license for 6 monthsYou must have no pending violation that could lead to suspension or revocation, and you must pass an eye test. The 2023 manual leaves the minimum age blank in this line (a printing error); the earlier manual and the county pages say 17. | City and County of Honolulu: Graduated Driver Licensing Program (GDL)checked 2026-11-01 |
| Fees (Honolulu) | Written test $2 ($12 online), permit $5, road test $8, provisional license $5 per year, 4-year license $20These are the City and County of Honolulu fees for the written test, instruction permit, road test, provisional license (per year or part of a year) and a 4-year license for ages 17 through 24. Fees are set by each county and can differ; Honolulu's online test page shows that the county share of the online test fee differs from county to county. The manual does not list fees. | City and County of Honolulu: Driver's License Requirements and feeschecked 2026-11-01 |
| What to bring | Application form, original or certified proof of legal name, date of birth and legal presence, Social Security number, and two proofs of Hawaii addressApplicants under 18 must bring a certified birth certificate and the parental consent form; those without two address documents may use their parents'. Book an appointment first (AlohaQ in Honolulu). Honolulu's requirements page says presenting Social Security documentation has been optional since June 18, 2021, while its procedures page still lists it; applicants who do not provide a number can get a limited purpose license that is not valid for federal purposes. | City and County of Honolulu: Driver's License Procedureschecked 2026-11-01 |
| Retaking the test | Wait 7 days after failing (Honolulu)Honolulu's online test page says applicants who fail on knowledge must wait seven days, and a retake costs the full fee again; the online test may be taken at most twice in one day. Other counties may set their own rules. | City and County of Honolulu: Online Learner's Permit Testchecked 2026-11-01 |
| Manual | Hawaii Driver's Manual, 2023 editionThe Hawaii Department of Transportation links the 2023 English edition (printing code HMG 5/2023, PDF posted in 2024). It replaces the 2018 printing; the rules are largely the same, but the 2023 edition requires seat belts for all front and back seat occupants and says crash instead of accident. The manual's appendix prints the state's own general test questions with answers. Our questions are our own, written from the manual's rules. | Hawaii Driver's Manual (2023 edition), PDFchecked 2026-11-01 |
Full tests
- Test 130 questions · 60 min · pass 24difficulty 1 of 6
- Test 230 questions · 60 min · pass 24difficulty 2 of 6
- Test 330 questions · 60 min · pass 24difficulty 3 of 6
- Test 430 questions · 60 min · pass 24difficulty 4 of 6
- Test 530 questions · 60 min · pass 24difficulty 5 of 6
- Test 630 questions · 60 min · pass 24difficulty 6 of 6
Handbook chapters
- Chapter 1: Licensing of driversHow Hawaii licenses new drivers: the instruction permit at 15 and a half, the 30-question written test, the provisional license, the full license at 17, license classes, renewals and citations.
- Chapter 2: Vehicle equipment, inspection and registrationHawaii's required and illegal equipment, the yearly safety inspection, tire, brake and steering checks, seat belt law, registration, license plates and out-of-state vehicles.
- Chapter 3: The driver, traffic laws and right-of-wayAttitude and age as crash factors, keeping right, passing rules, signals, railroad crossings, speed, parking, emergency vehicles, funeral processions and Hawaii's right-of-way rules.
- Chapter 4: Pavement markings and traffic signalsYellow and white lines, two-way left turn lanes, obstruction and railroad markings, traffic islands, signal lights and arrows, flashing signals, lane control signals and pedestrian signals in Hawaii.
- Chapter 5: Traffic signs and work zonesHawaii sign colors and shapes, STOP and YIELD, speed and lane use signs, no-passing signs, exclusion signs, warning signs, guide signs and construction zone devices and flaggers.
- Chapter 6: Crashes and insuranceWhat to do after a crash in Hawaii, when to report it, exchanging information, Hawaii's no-fault insurance minimums, the right to sue and the safety responsibility law.
- Chapter 7: Alcohol and other drugsHow alcohol affects drivers, Hawaii's .08 and .02 limits, implied consent, administrative license revocation, test refusal, open containers and medicines and other drugs.
- Chapter 8: Safe driving techniquesGood and bad driving habits, distraction, defensive driving, seat belts, children in cars, backing, entering traffic, roundabouts, lane choice, following distance, turns, passing, braking, downshifting and parking in Hawaii.
- Chapter 9: Weather, night, freeways and emergenciesDriving in Hawaii rain and fog, hydroplaning, flooding, dawn, dusk and night driving, entering and leaving freeways, and what to do in a blowout, brake failure, skid, fire or breakdown.
- Chapter 10: Sharing the roadTrucks and buses, towing trailers, motorcycles, pedestrians, school buses and bicyclists on Hawaii roads, with the figures the permit test asks about.