Fable Tests

Vermont practice tests

The Vermont learner's permit test is an online knowledge test with 20 multiple-choice questions, each with four answers and only one correct, and you need at least 16 correct to pass. You take it online through myDMV, not at a DMV office, and you must be at least 15 years old. If you fail, you wait at least one day and pay the test fee again before retaking it. Our free Vermont practice sets follow the same format, 20 questions with 16 to pass, and every answer comes from the Vermont Driver's Manual (2025, VN-007), so you can check what you know before the real test.

  • 20 questions
  • 16 to pass

The test in Vermont

Every figure links to the page it was read from, with the date it was checked. Formats change; the source wins over this table.

WhatFigureSource · checked
Questions20 multiple-choice questions, four answers each, one correctThe manual's Chapter 4 (What are the Tests Like?) says the knowledge test is online and has 20 questions, each with four answers to choose from, of which only one is correct. The saved Learner's Permit web page does not give the number of questions.Vermont DMV: Driver's Manual (VN-007, 2025), PDFchecked 2026-11-02
To passAt least 16 of 20 correctThat is 80 percent. Our practice sets use the same rule: 20 questions, 16 correct to pass.Vermont DMV: Driver's Manual (VN-007, 2025), PDFchecked 2026-11-02
Time limitNot statedNeither the manual nor the saved Learner's Permit page gives a time limit for the knowledge test. Our sets have no time limit.Vermont DMV: Learner's Permitchecked 2026-11-02
Road signsNot a separate partThe manual describes one knowledge test; it does not describe a separate signs test. The tests are meant to check that you can read and understand road signs and lights, so our sets include sign questions with pictures inside each test.Vermont DMV: Driver's Manual (VN-007, 2025), PDFchecked 2026-11-02
Where you take itOnline, through myDMVThe manual says the learner permit test is no longer taken in a DMV office and is an online test on mydmv.vermont.gov. The web page adds that since May 1, 2025, passing the exam does not issue the permit automatically: you must complete the permit application and pay the fees. Your receipt then acts as a temporary learner's permit for 90 days and must be with you when you drive. A parent of a child on an Individualized Education Program may read the test aloud but may not give the answers.Vermont DMV: Learner's Permitchecked 2026-11-02
RetakesWait at least one day; pay the test fee each timeBoth the manual and the web page say you must wait at least one day after failing the knowledge test. The web page says you may take it as many times as you wish and pay the test fee each time. After a failed road test you wait at least seven days (the manual says one week, and a one-month wait after three road test failures).Vermont DMV: Learner's Permitchecked 2026-11-02
LanguagesNot statedThe saved files do not list test languages. The manual says audio and online interactive versions of the manual are available, and that an interpreter is provided on request for hearing-impaired customers when booking an appointment.Vermont DMV: Driver's Manual (VN-007, 2025), PDFchecked 2026-11-02
Minimum age15You must be at least 15 to take the test. If you are 15, 16 or 17, a parent or legal guardian must sign the application before you take the test, unless you are an emancipated minor. Under 18, you need a clean driving record for the previous two years.Vermont DMV: Learner's Permitchecked 2026-11-02
Learner's permit rulesHold the permit 1 year; 40 hours of practice, 10 at nightA permit holder may drive anywhere in Vermont at any time with a licensed, unimpaired parent or guardian, a licensed or certified unimpaired driver education instructor, or a licensed, unimpaired person aged 25 or older beside the driver. The web page says the 25-or-older rule applies whatever the permit holder's age. Before a Junior Driver's License you must hold the permit for at least one year, have six months without a recall, suspension or revocation, pass driver education (30 hours classroom, 6 hours behind the wheel, 6 hours observation) and log 40 more hours of practice, at least 10 at night (30 minutes after sunset to 30 minutes before sunrise).Vermont DMV: Driver's Manual (VN-007, 2025), PDFchecked 2026-11-02
Junior license restrictionsFirst 3 months: no passengers unless a qualified supervisor rides in frontFor the first three months you drive alone unless a licensed, unimpaired parent or guardian, driver education instructor, or person aged 25 or older is in the front seat. In months four to six you may also carry immediate family (siblings and parents). After six months there is no passenger limit, but never more passengers than safety belts. For one year (or until 18) you may not drive for work, and you may never carry passengers for hire. Texting brings a 30-day recall; a single 3-point speeding ticket or 6 points brings a 90-day recall.Vermont DMV: Driver's Manual (VN-007, 2025), PDFchecked 2026-11-02
Fee: test and learner's permit$63.00 (knowledge test $39.00 + permit $24.00)The fee printed in the manual, accurate as of July 1, 2024 and subject to change. The web page says you pay the test fee again for each attempt.Vermont DMV: Driver's Manual (VN-007, 2025), PDFchecked 2026-11-02
Fee: road test and Junior Driver's License$62.00 (road test $23.00 + license $39.00)From the manual, accurate as of July 1, 2024. With a valid permit, an adult's road test and 4-year license costs $85.00, or $62.00 with a 2-year license.Vermont DMV: Driver's Manual (VN-007, 2025), PDFchecked 2026-11-02
What to bring or provideProof of identity and date of birth, Social Security information and Vermont residencyDocuments must be originals or copies certified by the issuing agency; photocopies and faxes are not accepted. Proof of lawful status is needed only for a REAL ID or Enhanced Driver's License. A minor provides a Vermont Residency Certification plus one parent residency document and proof of relationship. The web page says DMV runs checks on the online application and contacts you if anything needs correcting.Vermont DMV: Driver's Manual (VN-007, 2025), PDFchecked 2026-11-02
Manual editionVermont Driver's Manual, 2025 (form VN-007 07/2024)The cover says 2025 and the form code reads VN-007 07/2024. It is the manual linked from the DMV's Learner's Permit page. The saved Learner's Permit page is dated March 18, 2026.Vermont DMV: Driver's Manual (VN-007, 2025), PDFchecked 2026-11-02

Full tests

  1. Test 120 questions · untimed · pass 16difficulty 1 of 6
  2. Test 220 questions · untimed · pass 16difficulty 2 of 6
  3. Test 320 questions · untimed · pass 16difficulty 3 of 6
  4. Test 420 questions · untimed · pass 16difficulty 4 of 6
  5. Test 520 questions · untimed · pass 16difficulty 5 of 6
  6. Test 620 questions · untimed · pass 16difficulty 6 of 6

Handbook chapters

  1. Chapter 1: Getting your permit and licenseHow to get a Vermont learner's permit: the online 20-question test, the 16-correct pass mark, age and parent consent, documents, fees, retakes and the road test.
  2. Chapter 2: Graduated driver's licenseVermont's graduated licensing rules: who may supervise a permit driver, the one-year permit, 40 practice hours, Junior Driver's License passenger limits, work and hire rules, and recalls.
  3. Chapter 3: Driving safely, turns and right-of-wayVermont basics: getting ready to drive, stopping distance, turn signals, left and right turns, the 4-second following distance, speed limits and right-of-way rules.
  4. Chapter 4: Parking, roundabouts, police stops and the Move Over lawVermont parking distances and no-parking places, parking on hills, how to drive a roundabout, what to do at a police stop, and the Move Over law for emergency and maintenance vehicles.
  5. Chapter 5: Traffic lights, road signs and highway markingsVermont traffic signals and arrows, sign shapes and colors, warning and regulatory signs, center lines and lane markings, work zones, flaggers and railroad crossing rules.
  6. Chapter 6: Sharing the roadVermont rules for pedestrians, school zones and school buses, bicyclists, motorcycles, large trucks, slow-moving farm vehicles, horses and riders, and moose and deer.
  7. Chapter 7: Hazardous conditions, night driving and the InterstateVermont rules for floods, storms and winter driving, skids and anti-lock brakes, headlights and night driving, entering and leaving the Interstate, and passing.
  8. Chapter 8: Impaired, drowsy and distracted drivingVermont alcohol limits for adults and drivers under 21, how alcohol affects driving, implied consent, drugs, drowsy driving, the portable electronic device ban and fines.
  9. Chapter 9: Crashes, vehicle care and safety beltsWhat to do after a crash in Vermont and when to report it, annual inspection, tire tread and vehicle equipment rules, safety belts and child restraint law.
  10. Chapter 10: Points, insurance and owning a vehicleThe Vermont point system and suspension at 10 points, minimum liability insurance, proof of insurance, registration, title, purchase and use tax, and offenses that can cost your license.

Latest news

  1. Washington drivers under 25 now need a work zone course for a first license
  2. North Carolina drops the Driving Eligibility Certificate for teen permits
  3. Pennsylvania hands-free law: $50 fines replace warnings from June 2026

More news →